“Marvel Studios Cinematic Universe: Phase Three – Part One” Collection Announced

HMV have today revealed a box-set containing Captain America Civil War; Doctor Strange; Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2; Spider-Man Homecoming & Thor Ragnarok. Interestingly, the collection is being referred to as “Phase Three – Part One.”


It makes sense for Phase Three to be split in to 2 parts given the size of the phase compared to Phases One & Two, both of which contained 6 films. This Phase Three – Part One collection contains only 5 films but the whole of Phase Three so far consists of 8 films when adding Black Panther, Avengers Infinity War and Ant-Man & The Wasp. Then there is the still to be released additions of Captain Marvel and Avengers 4 which will see the culmination of Phase Three for a grand total of 10 films. From a business stand point, it’s clear that there’s money to be made by breaking the phase into separate box-sets, but this is the first time that Phase Three has been referred to in separate parts.


As well as the 5 films mentioned the set also contains 5 artcards by Matt Ferguson, 5 original theatrical posters and a “Marvel 10th – Rise of an Avenger” bonus disc which includes 14 character featurettes.